Weaver pockets $2K in return of sprints to Sandusky County Fair


Tuesday, Aug. 23, 2016

Contact: Brian Liskai – liskai2x@roadrunner.com

By Brian Liskai

FREMONT, Ohio – Paul Weaver proved why is the top ranked 305 sprint driver in the country Tuesday at Fremont Speedway. The Fremont native drove away from the field to score a $2,000 victory in the grand return of sprint car racing to the Sandusky County Fair.

Tuesday was opening day of the 164th Sandusky County Fair and it marked the first sprint car race held at “The Track That Action Built” during the fair since 1976. The event drew 37 sprint cars and was suppose to pay $1,200 to win thanks to Joe and Fran Darmofal. But, several area businesses and individuals kicked in more funds to take the total to $2,000 to win with extra money also added to second place.

Weaver, the track’s 2005 and 2006 champion, would work his way up from his fifth place starting spot and took the lead on lap eight. He survived several caution flags to record his fourth win of the year at Fremont . Weaver now has 40 career wins at Fremont and tied hall-of-famer Harold McGilton for ninth on the track’s all-time win list. It was also his eighth overall victory of 2016.

“I wanted the week off, but I guess this is a pretty big deal. I’m getting to where I only want to race once a weekend. But this does keep it fun. The change in the tire deal and putting this car back together and starting position has put me in this position,” said Weaver beside his M&L Excavating; Hampshire Racing Engines; Schiets Motorsports, Weaver Performance Center backed #1W.

In front of a packed grand stands, Seth Schneider and Dustin Dinan brought the field to green for their 30-lap feature. Schneider gained the advantage over Dinan with Weaver moving into third while Jamie Miller, John Ivy, Nate Dussel Chris Andrews and Tyler Street gave chase.

It quickly became a heated battle for the lead between Schneider, Dinan and Weaver before disaster struck for Schneider as he got completely sideways in turn two after five laps were recorded, bringing out the caution. On the restart Dinan was immediately challenged by Weaver with Dussel, Ivy and Andrews battling for third. Dinan and Weaver would race side by side the next two laps before Weaver was able to drive under Dinan for the lead on lap eight.

A multi car pile-up on lap night took the cars of Matt Foos who had worked his way from 20th to ninth, Cody Bova, Steve Rando and Jordan Ryan. Ryan would restart but pulled in the pits with an over-heating engine. A lap later and the caution flew again for Josh Harrison.

When the green flew again, so did Weaver, pulling away from the great battle for second involving Dinan, Dussel and Andrews. A caution on lap 13 wiped out a huge lead for Weaver but it was only a temporary set-back. He pulled away again when the green flew and in four laps had built a 2.7 second lead.

Meanwhile Dinan, Andrews and Dussel continued their fantastic battle with Ivy, Miller, Tyler Street and Jason giving chase. Weaver raced into lapped traffic with 10 laps remaining and sliced his way through like a surgeon.

The final caution flew with seven laps to go when Ivy made contact with a lapped car and spun. On the ensuing restart Dinan would try a bold move to attempt to take the lead but it cost him as both Dussel and Andrews got around him as Weaver checked out. Dussel and Andrews would swap the runner-up spot several times over the remaining laps.

Weaver drove to the win with Dussel getting by Andrews on the last lap for second. Dinan came home fourth with Street, Brian Smith (up from 15th), Ricky Peterson (up from 22nd), Keckler, Thomas Schinderle and Jimmy McGrath Jr. rounding out the top 10.

In the 10 lap ladies truck powder puff, Shelly Liskai would storm from her last place starting spot to a dominating win worth $500 thanks to Steve Klisz’ donation.

Fremont Speedway will return to its normal Saturday night action on Sept. 10 for season championship night. For more information go to www.fremontohspeedway.com

Fremont Speedway

Tuesday, Aug. 23, 2016

Fair Race – Fremont Auto Parts/Joe & Fran Darmofal

Indicates starting position [*]

305 Sprints - Fremont Federal Credit Union

Heat 1 - (8 Laps, top 5 to A)

1. 1X-Dustin Dinan[2] ; 2. 1W-Paul Weaver[1] ; 3. 2L-Landon Lalonde[6] ; 4. 5JR-Jimmy Mcgrath Jr[4] ; 5. 20I-Kelsey Ivy[10] ; 6. 44-Kyle Farmer[7] ; 7. 7M-Brandon Moore[9] ; 8. 99-Alvin Roepke[5] ; 9. 94K-Kevin Mingus[8] ; 10. 9R-Dustin Rall[3]

Heat 2 - (8 Laps, top 5 to A)

1. 4*-Tyler Street[1] ; 2. 36-Seth Schneider[5] ; 3. 41-Thomas Schinderle[2] ; 4. 15-Brian Smith[7] ; 5. 10-Josh Harrison [6] ; 6. 2-Ricky Peterson[9] ; 7. 32H-Dan Hennig[4] ; 8. 75-Jerry Dahms[3]

Heat 3 - (8 Laps, top 5 to A)

1. 4T-Chris Andrews[1] ; 2. 25-Jason Keckler[2] ; 3. 45-Trevor Baker[4] ; 4. 66-Jamie Miller[5] ; 5. 19R-Steve Rando[6] ; 6. 2F-Matt Foos[7] ; 7. 48M-Mike Moore[3] ; 8. 12-Kyle Capodice[9] ; 9. 49-Stuart Brubaker[8]

Heat 4 - (8 Laps, top 5 to A)

1. 1XX-Jordan Ryan[1] ; 2. 7K-Travis Philo[2] ; 3. 77I-John Ivy[6] ; 4. 1-Nate Dussel[9] ; 5. 20B-Cody Bova[5] ; 6. 47-Matt Lucius[7] ; 7. 11G-Luke Griffith[4] ; 8. 87-Brian Gibbs[8] ; 9. 18R-Tony Beaber[3]

B-Main 1 - (10 Laps, top 2 to A)

1. 2F-Matt Foos[2] ; 2. 44-Kyle Farmer[1] ; 3. 7M-Brandon Moore[3] ; 4. 99-Alvin Roepke[5] ; 5. 9R-Dustin Rall[8] ; 6. 94K-Kevin Mingus[7] ; 7. 75-Jerry Dahms[6] ; 8. 32H-Dan Hennig[4]

B-Main 2 - (10 Laps, top 2 to A)

1. 2-Ricky Peterson[1] ; 2. 11G-Luke Griffith[4] ; 3. 47-Matt Lucius[2] ; 4. 12-Kyle Capodice[5] ; 5. 18R-Tony Beaber[8] ; 6. 48M-Mike Moore[3] ; 7. 87-Brian Gibbs[6]

A-Main 1 - (30 Laps)

1. 1W-Paul Weaver[5] ; 2. 1-Nate Dussel[6] ; 3. 4T-Chris Andrews[8] ; 4. 1X-Dustin Dinan[2] ; 5. 4*- Tyler Street [7] ; 6. 15-Brian Smith[15] ; 7. 2-Ricky Peterson[22] ; 8. 25-Jason Keckler[10] ; 9. 41-Thomas Schinderle[12] ; 10. 5JR-Jimmy Mcgrath Jr[14] ; 11. 77I-John Ivy[4] ; 12. 36-Seth Schneider[1] ; 13. 11G-Luke Griffith[23] ; 14. 45-Trevor Baker[13] ; 15. 20I-Kelsey Ivy[16] ; 16. 44-Kyle Farmer[21] ; 17. 66-Jamie Miller[3] ; 18. 2L-Landon Lalonde[11] ; 19. 10-Josh Harrison [17] ; 20. 1XX-Jordan Ryan[9] ; 21. 19R-Steve Rando[18] ; 22. 2F-Matt Foos[20] ; 23. 20B-Cody Bova[19]

Hard Charger: 2-Ricky Peterson +15

Truck Powder Puff

A-Main (10 Laps)

1. 5JR-Shelly Liskai[7] ; 2. 7F-Mindy Halbiesen[6] ; 3. 17X-Jenny Dorr[1] ; 4. 8KB-Tina Roberts[2] ; 5. 1H-Cassandra Horn[3] ; 6. 22-Erika Dukeshire[8] ; 7. 22J-Jenna Warnick[4] ; 8. 13-Kathy Benyak[5]

© 2019 Fremont Speedway