Fremont Speedway rewards fans, race teams


Sunday, June 19, 2016

By Brian Liskai

FREMONT, Oh. – It’s been an entertaining and exciting first half of the 2016 racing season at Fremont Speedway. As “The Track That Action Built” prepares to kick off the second half of the year on Ludwig Propane Night, Saturday, June 25, the race teams and fans will get a special treat.

The event will pay $5,000 to win and $500 to start the 30-lap feature for the Fort Ball Pizza Palace 410 Sprints. The Fremont Federal Credit Union 305 Sprints, Burmeister Trophy Dirt Trucks and McCullough Industries 602 Late Models will also be in action.

And because of their support, race fans will get to witness all of this excitement and fun for the general admission cost of only $10.

‘We are coming off of four straight huge nights of racing that included the Memorial Day weekend double-header, the World of Outlaws and our Race of Legends Night and all received tremendous support from the race teams and fans. The extra pay in the feature and the discount for the fans is our way of saying thanks,” said Rich Farmer, Fremont Speedway Promoter.

Also, a dodge ball tournament will be held to help raise funds for a cure for Muscular Dystrophy. The tournament will begin at noon Saturday.

“Paul and Sue Kistler and their family is going through some tough times. They have always been a huge supporter of Fremont Speedway and our FAST series and we want to be there for them and let them know the racing community has them in our prayers and will help them,” Farmer said.

The first half of the season has seen only one repeat winner in the 410 sprints – defending track champion Byron Reed. Carson Macedo, Broc Martin, Cooper Clouse, Kody Swanson , Chad Kemenah and Craig Mintz have all captured wins.

Martin has an 18 point lead over Brian Lay in the battle for the coveted Fremont Speedway track title. Stuart Brubaker is only 25 markers out with Jody Keegan, Reed, Mintz, Tyler Gunn, Duane Zablocki, DJ Foos and Shawn Valenti rounding out the top 10.

In the 305 sprints former track champions Paul Weaver and Nate Dussel each have a pair of wins on the season with Jamie Miller, John Ivy, Dan McCarron and Alvin Roepke also capturing victories.

Dussel holds a narrow 10 point lead over Weaver with defending track champion Bobby Clark and Steve Rando just 29 points back. Ivy, Roepke, Miller, Dustin Stroup, Dustin Dinan and Seth Schneider rounding out the top 10.

Dirt Truck action has seen former track champion Shawn Valenti rack up four wins while Keith Sorg has scored two victories. Sorg holds an 11 point lead over Cory McCaughey with Dustin Keegan just 18 points out and Jeff Ward 23 markers back. Brad Stuckey sits fifth in the points a close 26 points out of first with Jim Holcomb, Dana Frey, Valenti , Kent Brewer and Gene Potridge rounding out the top 10.

John Brooks sits atop the late model points with three wins on the year. Matt Shipley is just five markers behind with Chester Fitch only six point back with his two wins this year. Steve Sabo and Dustin Keegan round out the top five in points. Sixth through 10th include Brandon Perkins, Jeff Hites, Jamie Miller, Ky Harper (2 wins) and Tim Sabo.

“We still have a lot of great events ahead in 2016 including championship night (Sept. 10) and the Jim Ford Classic (Sept. 16-17) which we have some really great things planned,” Farmer said.

Gates will open June 25 at 4 p.m. with racing underway at 7 p.m. General admission tickets are $10 for everyone 11 years and up with kids 10 and under free. Pit passes will be $35.

For more information go to

© 2019 Fremont Speedway