Racing roars back to Fremont Speedway Saturday


Thursday, April 9, 2015

Contact: Rich Farmer

FREMONT, Ohio – The roar of racing engines returns to Fremont Speedway as “The Track That Action Built” kicks off it’s 65th season of racing Saturday, April 11 on Tank’s Meats of Elmore Night.

To encourage the next generation of race fans to come out and see and feel the fun and excitement of dirt track racing, Fremont Speedway will allow any college student with a valid student ID to get in for only $10. Also, Fremont Speedway will continue its “Fan Zone” promotion where one fan’s ticket will be drawn from random and that person’s ticket will be upgraded to a pit pass, they will receive a meal from the track and a ride in the Baumann Auto Group Pace Tahoe.

The fire-breathing Fort Ball Pizza Palace 410 Sprints, wheel-standing Fremont Federal Credit Union 305 Sprints, ground-pounding AAA Ohio Auto Club Dirt Trucks and the new McCullough Industries 602 Late Models will be in action.

“The weather forecast for Saturday looks good and despite all the rain throughout the week we plan to race. A lot of thanks goes to our dedicated team of employees and long-time race track supporter John Adkins. John called me early this week and told me he would send a crew out to make sure the drains were all clear,” said Rich Farmer, Fremont Speedway Promoter.

The 2015 season looks to be very exciting as many rookies have indicated they plan to be in action in all the divisions. In the 410 sprints the young guns will challenge five time and defending champion Byron Reed. Several team changes in the off-season could mean big thrills for the fans. Chris Andrews has moved to the Mintz family #19 while former 305 sprint champion Stuart Brubaker takes over the Burmeister #16. Former 305 champion Nate Dussel will compete in his rookie season in the 410 sprints aboard the Davis Brothers #40DD. Also expected to return to the cockpit is former track champion Bryan Sebetto as he wheels the Miles Hill #77 on opening night. Other rookies moving into the 410 division include Tyler Gunn and Jimmy Colvin. Several out-of-state drivers have indicated they will be at Fremont on opening night and throughout the season including Canada ’s Kyle Patrick.

In the 305 sprint division it looks like there will be a handful of rookies including former pavement runner Brian Gibbs, Jerry Dahms, Frank Neill, Tyler Street and female drivers Kelsey Ivy and Alex Hill. They will have to unseat defending champion Jordan Ryan and deal with other veterans such as Paul Weaver, Bobby Clark and more. The sophomore class of drivers will be tough as well including Luke Griffith, Kyle Capodice, Trey Jacobs and more.

The new 602 late model division looks like it will start strong as several former drivers have put cars together to compete in 2015 such as former dirt truck champion Steve Sabo, Chester Fitch, Tim Herner, Dustin Keegan, Dustin Sautter and others.

Every year there are several new dirt truck teams and this year looks to be no different. Defending track champion Shawn Valenti has moved to the modified ranks which opens the door for a new champion in 2015.

Fans are encouraged to take some time and visit the new displays and renovations at the Fremont Speedway Hall of Fame.

Gates swing open for the season opener Saturday at 4 p.m. with racing scheduled for 7 p.m.

For more information go to or follow the track on Twitter @FremontSpeedway or like Fremont Speedway on Facebook.

© 2019 Fremont Speedway