UNOH All Stars invade Fremont Speedway for Memorial Day weekend double-header


Monday, May 19, 2014

Contact: Brian Liskai –

FREMONT, Ohio – Fremont Speedway’s tough weekly competitors have served notice they are up to the challenge of protecting their home turf when the University of Northwestern Ohio All Star Circuit of Champions come to visit on Saturday and Sunday, May 24 and May 25.

The weekend will mark the 111th and 112th visit to “The Track That Action Built” by the UNOH All Stars. And while four time and defending UNOH All Star champion Dale Blaney currently sits atop the series national and Ohio region points, he found out first hand this past Saturday how tough the local teams can be as Brian Lay bested the “Low Rider.” However, Blaney, who owns 20 career wins at Fremont , opened the track’s 2014 season with a win. Of Blaney’s 100 career UNOH All Star wins, 14 have come at Fremont Speedway .

Last year for the Memorial Day Weekend event, former Fremont track champion Bryan Sebetto picked up a win on the Saturday night. But, when the $10,000 payday was up for grabs on Sunday, Blaney cashed in, holding off Tim Shaffer.

Things kick off Saturday, May 24th on Kear’s Speed Shop Night with the Fremont Federal Credit Union 305 Sprints and AAA Ohio Auto Club Dirt Trucks joining the UNOH All Stars. The All Stars along with the 305 sprints and dirt trucks will return for Budweiser Night on Sunday, May 25th. There is a rain date for Sunday’s event of Monday, May 26th.

And there is more money up for grabs for all the divisions including the UNOH All Stars. The Baumann Auto Group Big Bucks Bump Challenge is in effect. If the driver who starts on the pole for the feature each night takes the challenge and goes to the tail and comes back to win there will be a $5,000 bonus. If the pole-sitter takes the challenge and does not win, his finishing position money will be doubled. If the pole-sitter turns down the challenge the outside front row starter can accept the Baumann Big Bucks Bump and go to the tail to try and earn the bonus.

Blaney currently leads the UNOH All Star national points by 33 markers over four time series champion Tim Shaffer as both look to become the first five time champion in the series’ history. Danny Holtgraver sits third followed by Jac Haudenschild, four time All Star champion Chad Kemenah, Caleb Helms, Andrew Palker, Greg Hodnett, Lee Jacobs and Trey Gustin.

In the Ohio Region Blaney’s lead is only six points over Jacobs who scored his first career All Star win two weeks ago at Lernerville Speedway. Haudenschild is only 18 points back with Shaffer and Holtgraver rounding out the top five in the standings.

Haudenschild recently picked up his 27th career UNOH All Star win at Mercer Raceway Park . Other All Star winners in 2014 include Dave Blaney, Kerry Madsen, Joey Saldana, Dale Blaney and Greg Hodnett.

Fremont Speedway has yet to see a repeat winner in the Fort Ball Pizza Palace 410 Sprints with Blaney, Christopher Bell, Craig Mintz and Lay scoring victories. Lay sits atop the track’s point standings by eight markers over two time track champion Mintz with defending and four time track champion Byron Reed third followed by Griffith, Travis Philo, Chris Andrews, D.J. Foos, Stuart Brubaker, Stuart Williams and Brian Smith.

For more information go to or

© 2019 Fremont Speedway